New Music: Evie Balfe – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

Lincolnshire-born, London-based indie electronic artist Evie Balfe has been featuring on these pages since early last year and never fails to impress with her original creations. Her latest gives us something a little different from her though. To celebrate the season, she’s released her own rendition of the John Lennon and Yoko Ono classic Happy Xmas (War Is Over).

Continue reading “New Music: Evie Balfe – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)”

Live Review: Billie Marten at The Crescent, York

Born and raised just a stone’s throw from York in Ripon, North Yorkshire, Isabella Sophie Tweddle – better known as Billie Marten – is an alternative singer-songwriter who first gained prominence at the age of twelve after a video of her singing a Lucy Rose cover gained thousands of views. Since then, Marten’s musical voyage has only gone from height to height. This weekend, Marten graced the stage of The Crescent in York, for the second night of her Drop Cherries tour. Supporting her was lo-fi folk musician Clara Mann.

Continue reading “Live Review: Billie Marten at The Crescent, York”